CDC Rep. Ivar K. Jones Congratulates “Hon. James Emmanual Nuquay” as Senator-Elect of Margibi County from the just-ended 2020 Senatorial Election.

THE FORMER SPEAKER WINS WITH 19,080 VOTES MARGIN” Harbel, Margibi -Dec. 14, 2020 (ELBC)

The National Election Commission has declared James Emmanuel Nuquay as the Winner of the Special Senatorial Election in Margibi County.

James Emmanuel Nuquay

The former House Speaker of the 53rd National Legislature won with the total votes of 34,918 votes ahead of Rep. Ivar K. Jones , who came second after obtaining a total of 15, 538 votes .

The votes obtained above, indicate that the People Unification Party (PUP) candidate won with a margin of 19,080 votes ahead of his greatest contender Kokulo Ivar Jones who contested on the Coalition for Democratic Change (CDC) ticket.

Meanwhile, Margibi’s District #2 Representative Ivar K. Jones has joined the list of other candidates to congratulate Hon. James Emmanuel Nuquay on his election as the new Senator of Margibi County.

I’m delightful that the good people of Margibi County peacefully exercised their constitutional rights as enshrined in the 1986 Constitution of Liberia. As indicated in article one, the will of the people must be respected. In the truth spirit of democratic practice, I want to use this opportunity to extend congratulations to all the Candidates of the Margibi County midterm senatorial elections and the winner Hon. J. Emmanuel Nuquay. #One_Margibi# One_People# One_Agenda

CDC Candidate Rep. Ivar K. Jones – Margibi County

Rep. Jones in his congratulatory message via his social media page (Facebook), referenced Article 1 of the Liberian Constitution which gives the power to the people to decide their leader for the said post through an election.

He promised to work in collaboration with Hon. Nuquay for the betterment of Margibi and its people.

Incumbent Senator Oscar A. Cooper came third with 3,350 votes , followed by Rev. Alexander Collins who obtained 2,195 votes .Coming fifth is Rep. Ben A. Fofana of District#4 with 1,227 votes followed by Gabriel Bedell with 855 votes and Princess S. Macaulay 147 votes .

With the results finally released by NEC, several Margibians have begun calling for a total reconciliation of the county; referencing the hate messages during the campaign period.

Other candidates who have congratulated the former House Speaker are Honorables Ben A. Fofana, Alexander Collins, and Gabriel Bedell.

Click Here to view Election Results from the 15 Counties across Liberia



  1. Very nice post. I just stumbled upon your blog and
    wanted to say that I’ve truly enjoyed surfing around your blog posts.
    In any case I will be subscribing to your feed
    and I hope you write again very soon!

  2. Hello There. I found your blog using google. This is an extremely well written article.

    I’ll make sure to bookmark iit and return to read
    more of your useful information. Thanks for the post.
    I’ll certainly return.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here